Your smartphone might be the key to your exercise

Welcome 👋 Have you noticed that your smartphone or wearable device is recording your exercise every day? Are you interested in setting goals, real-time recording and forming self-feedback via it to develop your own electronic exercise log. Come and have a look at my first blog!

https://github.com/RuiWanginUOA/Rui-Wang-s-Website/blob/master/content/post/getting-started/featured.jpg

A very interesting story that happens to me almost every day. I’m a big fan of anything Apple. When it comes to mobile technology, I’m most excited that it has a profound impact on almost every aspect of my life and enables me to instantly share information across devices with the same account. I’m used to walking three times a week, starting at my apartment and ending at either a grocery shop, a clothes store, or simply dropping by to grab a coffee, especially on days when I am concerned about my weight if I overate.

Once I start moving, my iWatch emits a short pulsating vibration to notify me (and, of course, a short vibration is prompted by iWatch when it detects movement has stopped). I could choose between outdoor or indoor activity settings. Distance, duration, calories burnt, heart rate dynamics, and elevation are all collected and synced to my iPhone’s fitness app with a vibrant user interface as well as visual data and graphics. Honestly, I’m deeply drawn to these brightly-hued things. I would raise my wrist now and then to monitor my heart rate and see whether the daily activity target circle had completed a closed loop (which is to say, the goal is achieved). It’s like a self-game or self-competition. Each time I achieve a goal and then set a new goal to boost my next movement, it gives me a sense of positive feedback and pushes me to keep going.

People search the Internet for information about their weight concerns and often download apps on their smartphones and purchase wearable devices to help them track and record their progress. Many also use social media to post their daily snapshots when/after exercising or follow online influencers (e.g., on Twitter, Facebook, and TikTok) who vlog or live stream their workouts for the benefit of others.

My research question is, therefore, what people are doing in their daily lives to improve physical activity by using mobile health, how they feel, and how they engage in the interactive process within their social context. I’m hoping my story draws people with interests to tell their stories, and I would love to hear theirs! If you would like to participate in this research, just follow this link to find more information and complete the registration. Thank you!

Related